Cats and being their servant

I mention in the bit about myself that I am a co-servant to two cats along with my best friend J.

J was a dog person until he met Archie.

Archie (AKA Chi, his royal Chi-ness, fluff ball, oi-you!) was a rather underage and under size ball of fluff living with our landlady when we first got to Cambridgeshire. He walked out from under the sofa and climbed up J’s leg and said “You belong to me.” There was no argument to be had with this determined wee tabby of uncertain pedigree (some maine coon we think, but mostly moggie).

Asbo (AKA as ‘Bo, Mr Snuggle monster, you big sook), was the cat that Archie invited home to stay as revenge for being kept inside for 6 weeks once we shifted to our current house (it was for his own good, he would have got himself built into the walls of one of the other houses in this terrace). Asbo was a very skinny stray tabby boy, who turned out to have the loveliest nature – illustrating that cats are nicer than humans.

Cats like routine. Like dogs and most humans. These boys have us well worked towards a cat friendly routine, with morning cuddle for Asbo while I eat breakfast, through to a very precise routine of supper and bedtime, where Archie gets to sleep on J’s office chair. If we get the routine wrong, we hear about it.

Now one problem with cats is they can’t read, so they know nothing about Quaker testimonies, particularly the ones on Equality, Simplicity and the environment. So us humans are most definitely their servants and cats demand greatly complex loving, while bringing us home a selection of wildlife, regardless of how well they are fed (J blames Asbo, Archie is so untrained at hunting we doubt he could catch a cold).

But that is the nature of cat love…and I for one would not have it any other way.

About kiwihelen

A Quaker woman with something to say. I am 40 years old, a Pakeha (white New Zealander) who is an economic migrant living in the UK. I am a registered dietitian, a feminist (although I am very aware of the mysandry of some feminist authors and also support the work of some Mens Rights Activists), a crafter and I play the trombone. I am in a long-distance relationship with a Quaker man who has two beautiful daughters. I have 12 nieces and nephews and a great nephew and niece. I share a house with my best friend J, and we are the staff for two cats Archie & Asbo.
This entry was posted in cats, Environment, Equality, Quaker, Simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

